20(a) Provide the name and full description of the community that the applicant is committing to serve

Prototypical answer:

gTLDFull Legal NameE-mail suffixDetail
.hamburgHamburg Top-Level-Domain GmbHdothamburg.deView


The Commmunity for the .HAMBURG top-level domain has been defined together with Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg officials by contractual definitions based on the natural community of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg and the Hamburg Metropolitan Area. Since .HAMBURG is intended to serve the Community of the Hamburgers in general, the group of eligible registrants is limited. Exclusively eligible to register a domain name under the top-level domain .HAMBURG is any natural person, legal person, organization or association of persons, if they can demonstrate an economic, cultural, historical, social or any other connection to the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg or the metropolitan area of Hamburg, verifiable by
- their residence or second home, office or place of business, a branch or permanent establishment in the metropolitan area of Hamburg, or
- a contact listed in the Whois database with a domicile in the metropolitan area of Hamburg, or
- other appropriate proof e.g. the certification by an employer to enroll at a school or college, or birth certificate.
By this the .HAMBURG Community is delimited clearly from Internet users generally, since the government of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg has decided that the definition above reflects a clear and exclusive approach towards a Community definition. By this definition the individuals and entities named above are natural members of the .HAMBURG Community. The delineation is based on a geographic approach – the borders of the metropolitan area of Hamburg.


The Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg is one of 16 German states, therefore the Mayor of Hamburg is a minister-president and a city mayor at the same time. Since 7 March 2011 Olaf Scholz (Social Democrates - SPD) is mayor. As a German state government, it is responsible for public education, correctional institutions and public safety; as a municipality, it is additionally responsible for libraries, recreational facilities, sanitation, water supply and welfare services.

Hamburg is made up of 7 boroughs (German: Bezirke) and subdivided into 105 quarters (German: Stadtteile). There are also 180 localities (German: Ortsteile). The urban organization is regulated by the Constitution of Hamburg and several laws. Most of the quarters were former independent cities, towns or villages annexed into Hamburg proper. The last large annexation was done through the Greater Hamburg Act of 1937, when the cities Altona, Harburg and Wandsbek were merged into the state of Hamburg. The Act of the Constitution and Administration of Hanseatic city of Hamburg established Hamburg as a state and a municipality. Some of the boroughs and quarters have been rearranged several times over the years.

Each borough is governed by a Borough Council (German: Bezirksversammlung) and administered by a Municipal Administrator (German: Bezirksamtsleiter). The boroughs of Hamburg are not independent municipalities. The power of borough governments is limited and subordinate to the Senate of Hamburg. The borough administrator is elected by the Borough Council and thereafter requires confirmation and appointment by Hamburgsʹ Senate. The quarters have no governing bodies of their own.

In 2008 the boroughs of Hamburg were Altona, Bergedorf, Eimsbüttel, Hamburg-Mitte, Hamburg-Nord, Harburg and Wandsbek.

Altona is the westernmost urban borough on the right bank of the Elbe river. From 1640 to 1864 Altona was under the administration of the Danish monarchy. Altona was an independent city until 1937. Politically, the following quarters are part of Altona: Altona-Altstadt, Altona-Nord, Bahrenfeld, Ottensen, Othmarschen, Groß Flottbek, Osdorf, Lurup, Nienstedten, Blankenese, Iserbrook, Sülldorf, Rissen, Sternschanze.

Bergedorf consists of the quarters Allermöhe, Altengamme, Bergedorf—the centre of the former independent town, Billwerder, Curslack, Kirchwerder, Lohbrügge, Moorfleet, Neuengamme, Ochsenwerder, Reitbrook, Spadenland and Tatenberg.

Eimsbüttel is split into nine quarters: Eidelstedt, Eimsbüttel, Harvestehude, Hoheluft-West, Lokstedt, Niendorf, Rotherbaum, Schnelsen and Stellingen. Located within this borough is former Jewish neighbourhood Grindel.

Hamburg-Mitte (ʺHamburg Centreʺ) covers mostly the urban centre of the city of Hamburg and consists of the quarters Billbrook, Billstedt, Borgfelde, Finkenwerder, HafenCity, Hamm-Nord, Hamm-Mitte, Hamm-Süd, Hammerbrook, Horn, Kleiner Grasbrook, Neuwerk, Rothenburgsort, St. Georg, St. Pauli, Steinwerder, Veddel, Waltershof and Wilhelmsburg. The quarters Hamburg-Altstadt (ʺold townʺ) and Neustadt (ʺnew townʺ) are the historical origin of Hamburg.

Hamburg-Nord contains the quarters Alsterdorf, Barmbek-Nord, Barmbek-Süd, Dulsberg, Eppendorf, Fuhlsbüttel, Groß Borstel, Hoheluft-Ost, Hohenfelde, Langenhorn, Ohlsdorf, Uhlenhorst and Winterhude.

Harburg lies on the southern shores of the river Elbe and covers parts of the port of Hamburg, residential and rural areas, and some research institutes. The quarters are Altenwerder, Cranz, Eißendorf, Francop, Gut Moor, Harburg, Hausbruch, Heimfeld, Langenbek, Marmstorf, Moorburg, Neuenfelde, Neugraben-Fischbek, Neuland, Rönneburg, Sinstorf and Wilstorf.

Wandsbek is divided into the quarters Bergstedt, Bramfeld, Duvenstedt, Eilbek, Farmsen-Berne, Hummelsbüttel, Jenfeld, Lemsahl-Mellingstedt, Marienthal, Poppenbüttel, Rahlstedt, Sasel, Steilshoop, Tonndorf, Volksdorf, Wandsbek, Wellingsbüttel and Wohldorf-Ohlstedt.

The metropolitan area of Hamburg is the compilation of 8 rural districts in the German federal state of Lower Saxony, 6 districts in the federal state of Schleswig-Holstein and the city-state of Hamburg. This area covers an area of app. 19,000 square km and is home to 4.266 million inhabitants.

On 1 January 2006, the office of the Hamburg metropolitan region opened, as agreed in a state treaty of cooperation (Staatsvertrag über Zusammenarbeit) between Hamburg, Lower Saxony and Schleswig-Holstein


The City of Hamburg has been established as the core of the .HAMBURG Community and has been founded in the year 808. The name Hamburg derives from the first permanent building on the site, a castle whose construction was ordered by the Emperor Charlemagne in 808. The castle was built on rocky terrain in a marsh between the River Alster and the River Elbe as a defence against Slavic incursion. The castle was named Hammaburg, burg meaning castle or fort. The origin of the Hamma term remains uncertain, as does the exact location of the castle.

The activities of the City of Hamburg include all political, economic, cultural, social and other activities a metropolis may pursue.


The Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg comprises of about 1.8 million inhabitants, about 120,000 registered companies and all institutional organizations such as the relevant local authorities of Hamburg and its boroughs. The membership eligibility is defined above. The geographic extent of the City of Hamburg is 755 km2 (292 sq mi). More information can be found at the offical website at www.hamburg.de.


The introduction of .HAMBURG is being supported by relevant organisations and local authorities in the city. The City of Hamburg fully supports our application for .HAMBURG as is evidenced by the attached Letter of Support. .HAMBURG will be used according to policies developed by the City of Hamburg and the applicant. The City of Hamburg has worked closely together with the applicant in the development of this application.

Similar gTLD applications: (0)

gTLDFull Legal NameE-mail suffixzDetail